JD Fanatic Forums banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, name is Jordan. Grew up around grandads farm, ran some bigger tractors, 4230, 2630 series, but now I'm a mechanical engineer in Knoxville. I love to tinker and thought about buying a riding lawnmower for my yard since I don't have a lot of time to mow these days. Came across this on Craigslist. I think I might purchase if I can talk him down some. Would love to semi restore and use it to mow my lawn. Any thoughts? I know that muffler can't be factory lol. 

http://knoxville.craigslist.org/grd/5589237924.html

·
Super Moderator
1,001 Posts
I just did a quick John Deere search on Knoxville Craigslist, and only found one flat fender 110. After reading the add, I see that the seller claims that the tractor was bought new by his pawpaw in 1970. I find that hard to believe as the tractor is a 1973 or 1974 model year. Just throwing that out there for you to consider. 

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I just did a quick John Deere search on Knoxville Craigslist, and only found one flat fender 110. After reading the add, I see that the seller claims that the tractor was bought new by his pawpaw in 1970. I find that hard to believe as the tractor is a 1973 or 1974 model year. Just throwing that out there for you to consider. 
Is that less desirable being a later model? Obviously it's not a round fender. I just like the idea of an older higher quality JD for a mower around the house vs a new cheap MTD with a Briggs with some store name on it. Parts relatively easy to find? Like I said, main function would be to mow, possibly restore part of it. 

·
Super Moderator
1,001 Posts